AAURORA DESIGN SYSTEMSAIRCRAFT & AVIATION SYSTEMS
Aircraft & Aviation / Aircraft comparison
32 SOURCE-TRACKED AIRCRAFT · REV 1.6

Compare aircraft specifications

Compare specific designs by cruise speed, maximum speed, maximum altitude, propulsion, energy and occupancy. Published manufacturer targets are identified separately from flight-test results, certified operating limits and original Aurora research goals.

Source-checked ≠ CAD-verified artworkMax cruise ≠ never-exceed speedFlight milestone ≠ absolute envelope maximum
32 aircraft
Aircraft / countryCruise speedMaximum speedMax altitude / demonstrated altitudePropulsionFuel / energyCrewPassenger capacitySource
1903 Wright FlyerHistoricUnited StatesNot independently verifiedNOT VERIFIED / HELD OPENNot established; ≈31 mph documented average flight airspeed (not maximum)NOT VERIFIED / HELD OPENNot independently verifiedNOT VERIFIED / HELD OPEN12 hp piston engine; 2 chain-driven pusher propellersPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDGasolinePRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIED1 pilotPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIED0PRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDReference ↗
Douglas DC-3Historic / heritage operationUnited States155–190 mph, varying with load and powerPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIED230 mph (Smithsonian example)PRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDNot independently verifiedNOT VERIFIED / HELD OPEN2 × Wright SGR 1820-71 radial engines, 1,200 hp each (Smithsonian airframe)PRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDAviation gasolineREFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEW2 flight crewREFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEW21 seats on Smithsonian DC-3; other layouts vary; certified maximum not statedPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDReference ↗
Messerschmitt Me 262 A-1aHistoricGermanyNot independently verifiedNOT VERIFIED / HELD OPEN870 km/h at 6,000 m (Me 262A-1a)REFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEW11,450 m (37,565 ft) listed service ceiling, Me 262A-1aREFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEW2 Jumo 004 turbojetsREFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEWWartime kerosene / J2 fuelREFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEW1 pilotREFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEW0REFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEWReference ↗
ConcordeRetiredUnited Kingdom / FranceMach 2 (≈1,350 mph); operator-published service figurePRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDMach 2.04 maximum permitted cruising MachREFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEWUp to 60,000 ft in service; not absolute ceilingPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIED4 × Rolls-Royce/SNECMA Olympus 593 turbojets with reheatPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDKerosene aviation turbine fuelREFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEW3 flight crew: 2 pilots and 1 flight engineerPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIED100 airline seats (British Airways arrangement); certified maximum not independently checkedPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDReference ↗
Boeing 787-9 DreamlinerIn serviceUnited StatesMach 0.85 (Boeing typical long-range mission assumption)PRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDNot independently verifiedNOT VERIFIED / HELD OPENNot independently verifiedNOT VERIFIED / HELD OPEN2 high-bypass turbofans (GEnx / Trent 1000)REFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEWJet A / Jet A-1REFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEW2 flight crewREFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEW250–325 typical two-class seats; NOT certified maximumPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDReference ↗
Airbus A350-900In serviceMultinational EuropeMach 0.85 published cruisePRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDNot independently verifiedNOT VERIFIED / HELD OPENNot independently verifiedNOT VERIFIED / HELD OPEN2 × Rolls-Royce Trent XWB-84 turbofansPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDJet A / Jet A-1REFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEW2 flight crewREFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEW440 maximum seating capacity (Airbus A350-900 data); typical 332–352 three-classPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDReference ↗
Embraer E195-E2In serviceBrazilUp to Mach 0.82 (max cruise)PRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDMach 0.82 max published cruise; separate MMO uncheckedPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIED41,000 ft service ceilingPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIED2 geared turbofans (PW1900G family)PRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDJet A / Jet A-1REFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEW2 flight crewPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIED132 one-class on 2026 Embraer spec; high-density max check openREFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEWReference ↗
COMAC C919CAAC-certified / serviceChinaNot independently verifiedNOT VERIFIED / HELD OPENNot independently verifiedNOT VERIFIED / HELD OPENNot independently verifiedNOT VERIFIED / HELD OPEN2 CFM LEAP-1C turbofansREFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEWJet A / Jet A-1REFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEW2 flight crewREFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEW158–192 seats in manufacturer-published layouts; maximum certified occupancy not checkedPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDReference ↗
HondaJet Elite IIIn serviceJapan / United States422 KTAS maximum cruise at FL300 ISAPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIED422 KTAS (max cruise; NOT Vne)PRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIED43,000 ft maximum cruise altitudePRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIED2 GE Honda HF120 over-wing turbofansPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDJet A / Jet A-1REFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEW1 or 2 pilots, depending on seating configurationPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDUp to 7 passengers with 1 pilot; up to 6 with 2 pilotsPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDReference ↗
Gulfstream G700In serviceUnited StatesMach 0.85 long-range / 0.90 high-speedPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDMach 0.935 MmoPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIED51,000 ft maximum cruise altitudePRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIED2 × Rolls-Royce Pearl 700 turbofansPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDJet A / Jet A-1REFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEW2 pilotsREFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEWUp to 19 passengers (manufacturer seating configuration)PRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDReference ↗
Pilatus PC-24In serviceSwitzerland440 KTAS max cruise at FL280PRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIED440 KTAS (max cruise; separate MMO not checked)PRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIED45,000 ft maximum altitudePRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIED2 Williams FJ44-4A turbofansREFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEWJet A / Jet A-1REFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEWSingle-pilot or two-pilot operation (manufacturer planning)PRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDUp to 10 seats in commuter configuration; executive layouts varyPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDReference ↗
Daher TBM 960In serviceFrance290 KTAS recommended cruisePRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIED330 KTAS maximum cruise at 28,000 ftPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIED31,000 ft certified ceilingPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIED1 × Pratt & Whitney Canada PT6E-66XT turbopropPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDJet A / Jet A-1REFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEW1 pilotPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDUp to 5 passengers plus 1 pilot (6 persons total)PRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDReference ↗
F-35A Lightning IIOperationalUnited StatesNot independently verifiedNOT VERIFIED / HELD OPENMach 1.6PRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDOver 50,000 ft (public indication)REFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEW1 F135 afterburning turbofanREFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEWMilitary aviation turbine fuelREFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEW1 pilotREFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEW0REFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEWReference ↗
Dassault RafaleOperationalFranceNot independently verifiedNOT VERIFIED / HELD OPENMach 1.8PRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIED50,000 ft service ceilingPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIED2 Safran M88 afterburning turbofansPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDKerosene aviation turbine fuelREFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEW1 or 2 pilots by modelREFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEW0REFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEWReference ↗
Saab Gripen EOperational deploymentSwedenNot independently verifiedNOT VERIFIED / HELD OPENMach 2 at high altitude (Saab Gripen E brochure)PRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDMore than 16,000 m (Saab Gripen E brochure)PRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIED1 × General Electric F414-GE-39E afterburning turbofanPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDAviation turbine fuelREFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEW1 pilot for single-seat Gripen EPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIED0REFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEWReference ↗
Kawasaki P-1OperationalJapan450 knots (JMSDF published cruise speed)PRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDNot independently verifiedNOT VERIFIED / HELD OPENNot independently verifiedNOT VERIFIED / HELD OPEN4 × IHI F7-IHI-10 turbofan enginesPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDAviation turbine fuelREFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEW11 crew (JMSDF published complement)PRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDNot configured for passenger serviceREFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEWReference ↗
Joby Electric Air TaxiFAA certification in progressUnited StatesNot independently verifiedNOT VERIFIED / HELD OPENUp to 200 mph company-advertised performance; NOT a certified speed limitMANUFACTURER DESIGN TARGET / NOT CERTIFIEDNot independently verifiedNOT VERIFIED / HELD OPEN6 tilting electric propellers; 4 battery packsPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDRechargeable batteriesREFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEW1 pilotPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIED4PRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDReference ↗
Archer MidnightFAA certification in progressUnited StatesNot independently verifiedNOT VERIFIED / HELD OPENUp to 150 mph COMPANY DESIGN TARGET; not certified maximumMANUFACTURER DESIGN TARGET / NOT CERTIFIEDNot independently verifiedNOT VERIFIED / HELD OPEN12 electric propellers across 6 booms; 6 forward tilt for cruise, 6 fixed lift-onlyPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDRechargeable battery-electric propulsion (design)PRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIED1 pilotPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIED4PRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDReference ↗
BETA ALIA VTOL (A250)Certification program / not yet delivered certifiedUnited StatesNot independently verifiedNOT VERIFIED / HELD OPEN153 knots manufacturer-published design figure; not certified limitMANUFACTURER DESIGN TARGET / NOT CERTIFIEDNot independently verifiedNOT VERIFIED / HELD OPEN1 cruise electric motor + 4 lift electric motors (VTOL)PRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDRechargeable batteriesREFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEW1 pilot; 2-pilot training configuration availablePRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDUp to 5 passenger seats (manufacturer configuration, not certified)REFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEWReference ↗
EHang EH216-SCAAC type certified (China)ChinaNot independently verifiedNOT VERIFIED / HELD OPEN130 km/h maximum DESIGN speedPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDNot independently verifiedNOT VERIFIED / HELD OPEN16 independent electric propellers on 8 arms, coaxial pairsPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDRechargeable batteriesREFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEW0 onboard pilotsPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIED2PRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDReference ↗
Electra EL9 Ultra ShortIn development; FAA certification basis established (not type-certified)United StatesUp to 175 KTAS, published maximum-cruise targetCOMPANY DESIGN TARGET / UNTESTEDNot published as certified VMO/MMO or achieved maximumNOT ESTABLISHED IN CITED SOURCECertified ceiling not publishedNOT ESTABLISHED IN CITED SOURCE8 electric wing-blowing propellers; Safran TG600 turbogenerator plannedPRIMARY-SOURCE PROGRAM FACT (NOT CERTIFICATION)Aviation turbine fuel / SAF-compatible turbogenerator + batteries (design)PRIMARY-SOURCE PROGRAM FACT (NOT CERTIFICATION)1 pilot (design)PRIMARY-SOURCE PROGRAM FACT (NOT CERTIFICATION)9 passengers (design target, not certified)COMPANY DESIGN TARGET / UNTESTEDReference ↗
Wisk Generation 6Prototype flight testing; autonomous passenger certification pendingUnited States120 knots planned cruiseCOMPANY DESIGN TARGET / UNTESTEDNot published as certified or demonstrated maximumNOT ESTABLISHED IN CITED SOURCE2,500–4,000 ft AGL planned operating band; not a service ceilingCOMPANY DESIGN TARGET / UNTESTED12 electric propellers: 6 forward tilt + 6 rear fixed liftPRIMARY-SOURCE PROGRAM FACT (NOT CERTIFICATION)Battery-electric; recharge between flightsPRIMARY-SOURCE PROGRAM FACT (NOT CERTIFICATION)0 onboard pilots planned; remote human supervisionCOMPANY DESIGN TARGET / UNTESTED4 passengers (design seating)COMPANY DESIGN TARGET / UNTESTEDReference ↗
NASA X-59Flight test: supersonic achieved 2026United StatesMach 1.4 demonstrated test-condition flight, NOT routine cruisePRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDMaximum demonstrated to source date: Mach 1.4; absolute operating maximum unverifiedPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIED55,000 ft demonstrated June 12, 2026; ceiling not establishedPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIED1 modified GE F414 top-mounted turbofanPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDAviation turbine fuel (grade not verified)REFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEW1 test pilotPRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIED0PRIMARY SOURCE VERIFIEDReference ↗
Airbus ZEROe fuel-cell conceptResearch concept / no certified modelMultinational EuropeNot independently verifiedNOT VERIFIED / HELD OPENNot independently verifiedNOT VERIFIED / HELD OPENNot independently verifiedNOT VERIFIED / HELD OPEN4 electrically driven propellers, each linked to a hydrogen fuel-cell stack; PROPOSED research architectureMANUFACTURER DESIGN TARGET / NOT CERTIFIEDHydrogen fuel-cell electricity (intended cryogenic H₂ storage); not a certified aircraftMANUFACTURER DESIGN TARGET / NOT CERTIFIEDCrew not definedREFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEWPassenger count not certifiedREFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEWReference ↗
JetZero Jet1 DemonstratorFull-scale demonstrator in buildUnited StatesNot independently verifiedNOT VERIFIED / HELD OPENNot independently verifiedNOT VERIFIED / HELD OPENNot independently verifiedNOT VERIFIED / HELD OPENBlended-wing turbine powered demonstrator (details open)REFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEWAviation turbine fuel (assumed; verify)REFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEWTest crew not verifiedREFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEW0 paying passengers; research demonstratorREFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEWReference ↗
Boom OvertureProposed airliner; developmentUnited StatesMach 1.7 company 2022 design cruise target; not flown by OvertureMANUFACTURER DESIGN TARGET / NOT CERTIFIEDNot independently verifiedNOT VERIFIED / HELD OPENNot independently verifiedNOT VERIFIED / HELD OPEN4 medium-bypass turbine engines proposed in 2022 Overture architecture; current design subject to changeMANUFACTURER DESIGN TARGET / NOT CERTIFIED100% SAF-compatibility company design goal (2022); not tested on certified OvertureMANUFACTURER DESIGN TARGET / NOT CERTIFIEDFlight crew not finalREFERENCE VALUE / PENDING INDIVIDUAL SOURCE REVIEW65–80 planned passengers in 2022 company concept; not certified occupancyMANUFACTURER DESIGN TARGET / NOT CERTIFIEDReference ↗
JetZero Z4 Blended-Wing AirlinerAirliner design/manufacturing development; not certified or in serviceUnited StatesNot independently published for certified Z4 configurationNOT ESTABLISHED IN CITED SOURCENot independently published as tested or certified maximumNOT ESTABLISHED IN CITED SOURCENot published as certified operating ceilingNOT ESTABLISHED IN CITED SOURCEConventional jet engines in proposed blended-wing-body architecturePRIMARY-SOURCE PROGRAM FACT (NOT CERTIFICATION)Conventional jet fuel planned; full fuel specification pendingCOMPANY DESIGN TARGET / UNTESTEDFlight-crew complement not published for certified modelNOT ESTABLISHED IN CITED SOURCEApproximately 250 seats (company design target)COMPANY DESIGN TARGET / UNTESTEDReference ↗
AWWA Sky Whale — Oscar ViñalsIndependent 2013 design study; never built, flight-tested or certifiedSpain (designer)Not demonstrated or reliably establishedNOT ESTABLISHED IN CITED SOURCE≈620 mph (997 km/h) quoted as a design claim, untestedINDEPENDENT CONCEPT CLAIM / NO AIRCRAFT TESTNo demonstrated or certified altitudeNOT ESTABLISHED IN CITED SOURCE4 proposed tilting turbo-electric hybrid engines (unbuilt)INDEPENDENT CONCEPT CLAIM / NO AIRCRAFT TESTHybrid turbine fuel and electric assistance, speculativeINDEPENDENT CONCEPT CLAIM / NO AIRCRAFT TESTNot specified as a validated flight crew complementNOT ESTABLISHED IN CITED SOURCEUp to ≈755 people in three decks (concept claim)INDEPENDENT CONCEPT CLAIM / NO AIRCRAFT TESTReference ↗
Aurora SolidWing S1No prototype, simulation validation or certificationAurora Design Systems — original proposal120 kt targetAURORA DESIGN TARGET / UNVALIDATED150 kt targetAURORA DESIGN TARGET / UNVALIDATED8,000 ft targetAURORA DESIGN TARGET / UNVALIDATED6 electric tilt-propellers (proposed)AURORA DESIGN TARGET / UNVALIDATEDSolid-electrolyte battery packs (research goal)AURORA DESIGN TARGET / UNVALIDATED1 pilot proposedAURORA DESIGN TARGET / UNVALIDATED4 proposedAURORA DESIGN TARGET / UNVALIDATEDOriginal Aurora concept; no certification
Aurora HydroLiner H2No prototype, simulation validation or certificationAurora Design Systems — original proposal240 kt targetAURORA DESIGN TARGET / UNVALIDATED275 kt targetAURORA DESIGN TARGET / UNVALIDATED25,000 ft targetAURORA DESIGN TARGET / UNVALIDATED2 electric ducted fans (proposed)AURORA DESIGN TARGET / UNVALIDATEDCryogenic liquid H₂ to fuel-cell electric powerAURORA DESIGN TARGET / UNVALIDATED2 pilots proposedAURORA DESIGN TARGET / UNVALIDATED24 proposedAURORA DESIGN TARGET / UNVALIDATEDOriginal Aurora concept; no certification
Aurora IonSwift XNo prototype, simulation validation or certificationAurora Design Systems — original proposal300 kt targetAURORA DESIGN TARGET / UNVALIDATED340 kt targetAURORA DESIGN TARGET / UNVALIDATED35,000 ft targetAURORA DESIGN TARGET / UNVALIDATED2 electric propfans + turbine generatorAURORA DESIGN TARGET / UNVALIDATEDJet A / SAF and battery power bufferAURORA DESIGN TARGET / UNVALIDATED2 pilots proposedAURORA DESIGN TARGET / UNVALIDATED6 proposedAURORA DESIGN TARGET / UNVALIDATEDOriginal Aurora concept; no certification
Aurora SkyFreighter VTNo prototype, simulation validation or certificationAurora Design Systems — original proposal75 kt targetAURORA DESIGN TARGET / UNVALIDATED110 kt targetAURORA DESIGN TARGET / UNVALIDATED10,000 ft targetAURORA DESIGN TARGET / UNVALIDATED8 lift rotors + turbine generator (proposed)AURORA DESIGN TARGET / UNVALIDATEDJet A / SAF plus battery bufferAURORA DESIGN TARGET / UNVALIDATED0 onboard, remote supervisory crewAURORA DESIGN TARGET / UNVALIDATED0 — cargo aircraftAURORA DESIGN TARGET / UNVALIDATEDOriginal Aurora concept; no certification

All values are model- and configuration-dependent. A blank or unverified entry does not establish zero capability. Design goals are not demonstrated or certified performance. Follow the aircraft or source link for qualification and references.